The green trend continues

Maybe because its march and St, Paddy’s day is around the corner (a soda bread is on the menue soon), or i just have a love of the color green, im noticing a trend. Its still cold enough out that a good bowl of soup can warm up even the most chilliest of days, especially one that is thick and creamy and super filling.  I love all soups, but i love pureed soup most of all. I make a mean  gingered butternut squash, carrot and parsnip soup, but thats a recipe for another day.

Wanting a change, I decided to try my hand at Split pea soup. I find these types of soup easiest to make since it requires very little work. you just toss everything into a big pot and cover it with water or stock and let it cook for a few hours. I hunted around for ideas and most contained a ham bone. As mentioned before, I dont eat pork, so I decided to experiment with other spices. It was a success and I am very pleased with the results. Suffice to say I will be eating it for a few days.

Image

 

Split pea soup

1 bag of split peas
1 onion chopped
2 carrots chopped
6-8 cups stock (chicken or veggie)
Cumin
Garlic
bay leaf
Salt
Pepper

In a large pot over high heat place the onion, carrot, and split peas and add the broth (enough to cover the peas) add the bay leaf and season with cumin, garlic and salt and pepper
Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for about 2 hours, or until the peas are mushy.
If you want a smooth constancy blend in a blender or with an immersion blender till smooth. Season again to taste.

*I noticed when i reheated the soup the next day it had thickened up even more in the fridge, and had to add a little bit of water to thin it out*

Leave a comment